Stereotype-based fears over the effects of HRT

Trans activists say that becoming trans is not based on stereotypes, yet previous posts have shown time and time again that gender stereotypes are a motive for transitioning, e.g. a male thinking he must really be a female because he did not like to play sports as a child. What role do stereotypes play in transitioning itself?

Many transgender people believe that a MtF’s brain is meant to “run on estrogen”:

A few months later, I’d begun to experience the physical and mental impact of the hormones, and with it a new sense of clarity, peace and happiness. The chronic aches in my joints and pains in my stomach that had been a staple of my life since puberty dissipated. My mind and body began repairing themselves. It’s as though my brain was meant to run on estrogen my whole life.

Other transgender people claim their brains are  meant to be like female brains. What do they mean by having a female brain? The concerns that they raise about what neurological and psychological changes they will experience after taking hormone replacement therapy is revealing as to what they think women’s brains are like.

drivingskillsrs
This Reddit user believes that sexual reassignment surgery lead to becoming a worse driver and wonders if HRT and SRS damage driving skills. Poor driving skill is a commonly held negative stereotype about women.

Women are stereotyped as being worse than men at logic, reasoning, and scientific skills. It’s  not  unusual to find comments  from Reddit users afraid that taking female hormones, i.e. becoming more “like a woman” will lead to the deterioration of these skills, or to find those who feel those skills have indeed changed:

greatatlogicandphysics
This user is concerned over the potential loss of logic and physics capabilities
worseatphysics
Some feel their skills have already changed due to hormones. This user believes they have become worse at physics and gained increased verbal skills
videogamesandscienceandfury
This user is concerned over losing interest in science or losing a sense of “righteous fury over the injustice in the world.”

Males dominate the business world (and thus are stereotyped as better at business), and we see concerns that HRT will damage one’s business skills or make them poorer at managing money:

affectbusinessskill
Concern over losing business skills
abilitytomanagemoney
Concern that HRT affects the ability to manage money

Then there are downright bizarre concerns over the effects of HRT, such as worrying it will change one’s sense of humor:

senseofhumorchange.png

A reply to this user explained that their personality did change on HRT- they became less interested in talking about ideas, became more easy to manipulate, and became more empathetic:

lotsofpersonalitychanges.png

Sounds an awful lot like stereotypes of a vapid woman…

These concerns are both bizarre and insulting to women. But the concerns they hold are revealing about what they believe women are like, which in turn is revealing about their understanding of gender and motives for transition.

10 thoughts on “Stereotype-based fears over the effects of HRT

  1. “… there could be some kind of placebo effect going on …”
    Placebo effect is all of it.
    They’re behaving as they think a (stereotypical) “woman” would do, b/c after HRT they think they’re closer to the (stereotypical) version of the gender they “want to belong”.

    Dysphoria is a a though thing, but there are other serious mental and/or physical problems that people have to face without trying to kill themselves or trying to redefine their own existence as individuals.
    The mental and physical problems are challenges that can only be overcome by facing them, instead of redefining oneself.

    The proliferation of trans-people in society is more a social problem than an individual one (due to gender dysphoria).
    Those who fall into the trans-activist “solution” of the problem – HRT & surgery – are not helping to solve, but to perpetuate it.

    Trans-activism is weakening humanity and perpetuating patriarchal values.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I agree with your comment on the placebo effect, some people are more susceptible to it than others and individual susceptibility may change with time. In spite of the recent hype about transgenderism and gender dysphoria some people in the medical community have missed it, including in Fullerton California. I was to young to remember it but I understand that there was a lot of hype about the Christine Jorgensen case. Publicity about gender dysphoria (or the label in use at the time) seems to come in cycles. The most recent cycle started after internet use became widespread.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As a woman this kind of comments are as you said downright insulting and it makes me furious. Your interests and personality does not define your gender and vice versa. You are either born as a woman or man. Period

    Liked by 4 people

  3. This is the most offensive thing I’ve seen yet. So telling. If they think women are such morons why do they want to be women?

    Clicked through to one of the links and saw someone being reassured their interests wouldn’t change and to stop buying into gender stereotypes. Err… this entire ideology hinges on fifty year old gender stereotypes!

    Liked by 5 people

  4. I thought I had seen it all, after a year of reading r/gendercritical and endless craziness on tumbr. The idea that the presence of estrogen in one’s body would a cause a reduction in cognitive faculties and IQ is basically what these wanna-be, always-will-be-XY men are positing. No, in fact, they are explicitly stating their beliefs in some of the most repugnant misogynist stereotypes that exist.

    This is not my blog, so I don’t want to go into full rant mode. I just do that over at my own place. I will say this: I am very PROUD to be an authentic, XX chromosome female. I naturally excel at mathematics, analytical thought, logic, science, programming and technology. I am an accomplished classical musician. I can play board games and puzzle games. I can win, even when the other players are male electrical engineers who work for Intel and pen testers, i.e. infosec. I say “naturally” because there isn’t anything unnatural about having these abilities AND being entirely female. I am heterosexual. I like sex with men a lot. I don’t wear cosmetics, I don’t style my hair, I do take pride in my body being healthy and enjoy swimming and cross-country skiing. I like to wear dresses and skirts, but I don’t like wearing shoes with high heels. In other words, one can be female, feminine, full of natural estrogen, have a variety of traditional and non-traditional expressions of sexuality and vocational interests. This has been a well-established fact and accepted in the scientific and medical literature for at least a century.

    These fools in the transgender community are trying to eradicate over 100 years of scientific progress for humanity with their delusional beliefs. Their supporters in the larger societal milieu, from academia (Harvard and Stanford children’s gender clinics!) to the mainstream media (National Geographic’s “Gender Revolution” issue in Jan 2017) to the U.S. and U.K. government (public policy that nullifies women’s right to exist by describing us as people without penises and denying our exclusive ability to ensure perpetuation of the species through childbirth…) I can’t believe I need to verbalize this!)

    Liked by 3 people

    • Sorry, meant to say this,

      The idea that the presence of estrogen in one’s body would a cause a reduction in cognitive faculties and IQ is basically what these wanna-be women, but always-will-be-XY chromosome men are positing.

      I got agitated while writing what I did above. No, it was not because I am a high-strung irrational emotion-driven woman! It is because I have strong beliefs in evidence-based rational thought. That does not diminish me as a woman, nor is it a “masculine trait”. (I have been reading sycophant reviews of Cordelia Fine’s absurd book, which Harvard Press should have been ashamed to publish. They have completely bought into the trans agenda. Yes, testosterone and estrogen DOES cause differences in brain development in female and male fetuses, despite what Cordelia and her water carriers say. Those differences don’t make women inferior, just different in some ways, but not in absolute terms. Trans ideology, about having a lady brain born into a male boxy is another absurdity, but I’ll stop now.)

      Liked by 3 people

  5. I’m a 67 year old virgin with cerebral palsy(CP) and gender dysphoria. It is difficult for me to identify with trans-activists because I preceive them as able bodied they don’t even mention the handicapped. I notice that Ellie’s posts are only 17 minuets apart. It would be difficult for me to type that much in 17 minuets and my handwriting speed is even slower. I don’t think that I could write that much long hand in one sitting. Also I never came close to meeting physical fitness standards for males. CP is a motor handicap caused by damage to motor control centers in the brain at or near the time of birth. I was born Feb. 24,1951, and my CP went undiagnosed until September 6, 1988, three weeks before my father died. However there were some doctors who asked me if I have cerebral palsy BEFORE I received the diagnosis.

    I was expected to self diagnose my cerebral palsy, and yet I am criticized for self diagnosing gender dysphoria. Actually the doctors who asked if I have cerebral palsy probably assumed that I would have already received the diagnosis if I had the condition. If so, that assumption resulted in a more than 10 year delay in me receiving the diagnosis. So if you’re a medical doctor then have you ever asked a patient if he or she has cerebral palsy? See above if you don’t understand why that can be a problem.

    A peeve of mine is the there has never been a study to ascertain whether there is a correlation between CP and gender dysphoria. If one in 10,000 is gender dysphoric and one in 200 has CP, then it would be expected the one in 2,000,000 people fit into both categories. However I would be surprised if it’s that rare.

    Like

    • Hi Bill,

      I apologize if my vehemence gets more than a little strident (and um .. a tad annoying). Do note that I made numerous grammatical and spelling errors in my rapid-fire posts. In contrast, you, with cerebral palsy, did not make a single such error. Sometimes, quality trumps speed and quantity.

      Please accept my best wishes for your well-being, wherever that may lead you.

      Like

Leave a comment